Storage & Presentation

The Cyanotype process is one of the longest lasting photographic processes known—if the prints are handled correctly. Even today some of the first works are preseved in museums and archives.

Nowadays one of the main problems is the buffering of many papers (to reduce ageing). But the chemicals used for this are destructive to Cyanotypes. When choosing papers I'm taking this into account. But for the storage and presentation of Cyanotypes you have to think of disturbing chemicals as well. That means the cardboard used for passe partouts or paper wrapping for storage should be unbufferd material.

If the prints are presented in a very well lit environment with potentially high rate of ultra-violett (e.g. a room with intense sun light over the day), the use of special glass for the frame is recommended.

Light-Fading

At first the prints may show a perceptible light-fading effect. Put in strong light the prints will get lighter and will darken again in the dark. This effect is almost fully reversible. After a short time this effect will lessen until it is almost not noticable.

      // \\TransportationStallhofBaobab Blossom 1Flower Hat JellyHeads of Siracusa

Aufbewahrung & Präsentation

Cyanotypien sind eine der stabilsten fotografischen Methoden – wenn die Bilder korrekt behandelt werden. Noch heute sind in Museen einige der ersten Werke erhalten.

Ein Problem heutzutage ist, dass viele Papiere gepuffert werden, um die Alterung zu verlangsamen. Aber gerade diese Pufferung schadet Cyanotypien. Bei der Auswahl der möglichen Papiere beachte ich dies, aber es muss natürlich auch bei der Auswahl der Materialien für die Aufbewahrung und/oder Präsentation beachtet werden. So sollte als Passepartoutmaterial unbedingt nur ungepufferter Karton verwendet werden

Ist eine Präsentation in sehr heller Umgebung mit hohem UV-Anteil vorgesehen (z.B. Zimmer mit starker Sonneneinstrahlung), so ist eine Spezialverglasung günstig, da die Standardgläser von Bilderrahmen nur einen geringen Anteil an UV-A Strahlung blockieren.

Hell-/Dunkeleffekt

Anfangs können die Bilder einen merklichen Hell-/Dunkeleffekt zeigen: bei stärkerer Beleuchtung (tagsüber) werden die Bilder etwas heller und im Dunklen wieder dunkler. Dieser Effekt verringert sich mit der Zeit und ist nach einer Anfangsphase vollständig reversibel und kaum wahrnehmbar.

      FortbewegungLebenslinieIm ersten Jahr…BögenQualleWald am Col Verte I